4 years with an AF... PLEASE HELP!

Please come in! Start your own personal thread, tell us a bit about yourself...and your fissure, of course. Welcome!

Return to New to the forum? Introduce yourself here

4 years with an AF... PLEASE HELP!

Postby Idol79 » 01 Jul 2010, 05:08

Hi everyone.
I have been suffrering with an AF for 4 years now and it isn't getting any easier! I try to do all the correct things, with diet and stool softners etc, but when i have one bad bowel movement i'am back to square one, after months of trying to heal. I have a few questions that i'm hoping you very kind people can help me with??
Can the actual fissure continue to get bigger in size over the years?, because mine seems to be getting bigger, i would say it is abou 3cm but not sure.
When i have soft bm's the pain isnt there, only if its a bit harder, and when i put cream on the actual thing it hurts then, is that classed as healed or not?.
How likely is my AF to heal after having it for 4 years? is there a chance it could even though it is chronic?
Thank you for taking time to read guys. (its driving me crazy at the moment!!) Image
Idol79
Salt Bather

Topics: 19

Re: 4 years with an AF... PLEASE HELP!

Postby StevePain » 01 Jul 2010, 05:54

Hi Idol, welcome to the board,
So you've been suffering for 4 years with a fissure, have you actually been diagnosed or had the fissure visualized by a CRS?, also, what stool softeners are you using, most of us on here are using Miralax or Movicol as it's known here in the UK, this is the best laxative around and isn't harsh on the system like other laxatives.
You say that your fissure is about 3cm, is it visible, have you seen it yourself, some fissures are visible but others are hidden beneath anal folds or deeper and can only be seen with an anuscope or colonoscopy.