Hospital referral hadn't been put in! - negligence

Are you having, or have you had a Lateral Internal Sphincterotomy (LIS)? Please share your experiences here, or ask any questions.

Return to LIS - Considering surgery or already had it?

Hospital referral hadn't been put in! - negligence

Postby Catsitter » 24 May 2011, 01:10

Hey guys
I posted in my introduction (yes still a noob here :)) that a referral had been made from my GP to have the surgery to remove my skin tag, Piles (ext and int) and fissure.
After speaking with my GP yesterday to ask if they can hurry up the referral, she said there was no record of a referral on my notes!! Image (thank god I'd called them!)
She has however placed another referral and marked it as urgent as it was a mistake on their part - however, she explained it wont simply be in for surgery then out, she said the hospital would try this oitment (I am sorry, I know it begins with a D and gives headaches) for three months and monitor me, then decide about surgery
I burst out into tears as I cant imagine waiting for at least 6 months (3 for referral acceptance, 3 for monitoring by the hospital). So my GP has given me the oitment now and she is monitoring me, so when it comes to the referral, I should (fingers crossed) go straight for surgery.
Please excuse my rant Image , its just comforting to know I am telling my troubles to many likewise sufferers.
Lets just hope this gets a move on things because I am going to beat this thing as I want to enjoy myself and get on with my life, without having to feel like a cow being branded with a hot iron Image
Catsitter
Fibre Addict

Topics: 2

Re: Hospital referral hadn't been put in! - negligence

Postby Bernie » 24 May 2011, 03:07

Hi catsitter, sorry you're going through this.