3.5 months post-LIS, possible abscess, very worried :-(

Are you having, or have you had a Lateral Internal Sphincterotomy (LIS)? Please share your experiences here, or ask any questions.

Return to LIS - Considering surgery or already had it?

3.5 months post-LIS, possible abscess, very worried :-(

Postby recoveringfiss » 05 Mar 2012, 00:17

I am 3.5 months post-LIS (Nov. 17). Fissure is completely healed. However, went to CRS 2 days ago because of foul-smelling odor and dull pain at incision site. CRS examined the area, and said that he thinks I have an abscess on the inside of my anus as a result of the incision wound not completely healing. The abscess is giving out pus, which is causing the odor. He stated that I would probably need a follow-up surgery to reopen the wound and clean it. However, I am really worried about getting another surgery, and I am going to schedule a 2nd opinion with another CRS. My CRS also said that I could wait a couple of months and see if it heals, as 30% of them heal on their own?
Not sure what to do- this is so frustrating, as I thought this was all behind me (pun intended :-/). Has anyone else been through anything this? Please share your experience, as it will greatly help. Thanks.
RF
recoveringfiss
Fibre Addict

Topics: 4

Re: 3.5 months post-LIS, possible abscess, very worried :-(

Postby Savaici » 05 Mar 2012, 11:10

Hi there, RF,
If you go to the part of the forum entitled 'References, Web sites and Facts,' posting most current information on Anal Abcesses.
Hope you feel better soon.
Sav
Savaici
Administrator

Topics: 222

Re: 3.5 months post-LIS, possible abscess, very worried :-(

Postby Savaici » 05 Mar 2012, 11:28

RF,