trying to get my fibre right

Discuss changes in diet that have helped you manage your fissure, or any supplements or medications/creams that have been effective.

Return to Diet Tips / Supplements

trying to get my fibre right

Postby NewMummy » 18 May 2012, 22:48

Hi, I am a bit new to this whole issue and have for the last 3 weeks tried to change my diet to get the toothpaste poop everyone here so desperately wants. I'm a bit stuck at the moment, can someone comment on my diet and suggest what I can do??? Currently my poos are a touch on the bulky side and instead of coming out in one smooth chunk they sortof come out bit by bit with gas in between if that makes sense. I am wondering if I'm still getting too much fibre overall and especially too much insoluble fibre. I have been trying to cut back on fibre and eat more soluble because I definetly had too much bulk a while ago. it's been progress but I still think stools need more tooth paste consistency...only then will I have the guts to cut out stool softeners. Anyways, this is what I currently eat:
Breakfast:
1 mandarin
Corn flakes w/goat milk
vit C, Magnesium 200mg, 20ml Aloe vera juice, half a glass prune juice, probiotics, 1 tablespoon flax seed
Snack: 4 prunes, 4 dried apricots
Lunch: I mush up 1/2 can kidney beans, 1/2 avocado, one egg or a tin of tuna, 1/2 tin of peas and carrots
Snack: Some tablespoons of yoghurt, some melon or grated apple and carrot salad
Dinner:Chicken/vegetable soup with a lot of root vegetables and rice, or fish/chicken/turkey with mashed veggies again with rice and a lot of root vegetables and peel off to reduce the insoluble fibre content.
Magnesium 200mg, 20ml Aloe vera juice, half a glass prune juice, 1 tablespoon flax seed
If I'm still hungry at night time I have one more piece of fruit...kiwi, mandarine or pear and some yoghurt.