New to the forum, not to the fissure

Please come in! Start your own personal thread, tell us a bit about yourself...and your fissure, of course. Welcome!

Return to New to the forum? Introduce yourself here

New to the forum, not to the fissure

Postby roadscholar » 03 Oct 2012, 20:07

Hello. I am a 58 year old male. I work as a road construction inspector and I am a weekend musician, with a steady gig. I have been dealing with a chronic fissure for the last 25 years, or so. I am currently recovering from my worst bout, to date.
I really had a run of luck. Several weeks ago, I threw my back out and was suffering from sciatica, another issue I have had for years. The next day, I strained a bit, trying to hurry a BM and the fissure opened up, again. That makes about a dozen times, since my first bout. This one lasted two full weeks with more profuse bleeding than ever before. (I also suffer from IBS and diverticulosis, which about once a year, turns into diverticulitis.) A couple of days after the fissure opened, my diverticulitis kicked in. Cipro and Metronidazole, along with a soft diet, resolved this issue in about 10 days. During the 10 days treatment, the fissure was quiet again. Once I was over the diverticulitis, I developed a hemorrhoid. After a few days of treatment with Preparation H, it was gone. Then.....I had a harder than normal stool and it was off to the races. I had bleeding with every BM and lots of it. I am on a regime of Metamucil and Miralax, so the hard stool was a surprise. I still had some Hydrocortisone/Pramoxine left from my last bout, 18 months ago, so I started using it. After about 10 days, I tried something new. I decided to not rush my BM's at all, not even that initial push to get things started. My fissure improved after that. I have now been without bleeding for two consecutive days.