Abcesses, fistulae and fissures

Discuss any questions, problems or share your solutions here...

Return to General Anal Fissure Discussion

Abcesses, fistulae and fissures

Postby arh106 » 18 Apr 2010, 07:41

Hi,
I've just joined this forum and wanted to talk about my 20 month struggle with anal problems. I'm a 23 year old student but I don't really live a typical student lifestyle. My alcohol intake is, on average, less than the recommended amount for a male and I eat a balanced diet with plenty of weetabix, salad, fruit and veg.
It all started in September 2008 when I suffered from excruciating pain from a lump in my anus. I was visiting family away from home at the time and after two sleepless nights from the pain and the inability to sit or lie down I went to the local out-of-hours surgery where I was told - without any examination - that I had a perianal abscess and was prescribed antibiotics (I can no longer remember which ones) and told that I would be fine after a week.
Well a few days later the pain was still just the same and I was still unable to sleep despite being fully dosed up on pain killers so I went to my own GP and was told just to wait a bit longer but if no improvement was noticed within two days to return.
Two days later I was back in the GP surgery and he examined me. He admitted me immediately to hospital awaiting an emergency abscess removal but because I had already had breakfast that day I was told I wouldn't be able to have the op that day and to go home (with some stronger suppository pain killers finally) and come back first thing in the morning.
That night, the abcess burst. It was unbelievably painful but afterwards an incredible relief. I went into the hospital that morning as planned and spoke to the consultant who said that as it had burst there was nothing to operate on and he suggested continuing the course of antibiotics and that would be the end of it.