Diltiazem/lack of progress

Discuss any questions, problems or share your solutions here...

Return to General Anal Fissure Discussion

Diltiazem/lack of progress

Postby jman11 » 19 May 2010, 19:52

So I have been using Diltiazem for about 6 months now, twice a day usually at about 12 hour intervals and am totally dependent on it. I find that with exercise and masturbation/intercourse my fissure will be worse for a couple weeks before it gets any better. If I get an erection I am sure to have pain later on in the day, and being 22 years old this is very troubling.
My question is when should I stop using Diltiazem and opt for surgery? I don't have trouble with bms but I get sharp pinches throughout the day and this whole lifestyle just has me depressed. It's been over a year since I got my fissure and it is not healing. What should I do?!?!
jman11
Salt Bather

Topics: 10

Re: Diltiazem/lack of progress

Postby NeuropathicGuy » 19 May 2010, 20:16

Hey bro, have you considered trying something like Botox? I forget how long you've been using diltiazem, but if it's been a while, and your fissure has been there for a over a year, then honestly I'd say the odds of it healing using he current course of treatment are probably not that high...
Being reluctant about surgery is definitely understandable, but a lot of people try Botox as the step between the ointments and surgery. It definitely helped me for at least a few months, and a couple of members have healed completely from it.
If *ahem* sexual activity causes the fissure pain to get worse for weeks then that sounds pretty serious to me. When my fissure was really bad, such activity would cause me some discomfort but certainly not for weeks afterward.
I've personally had an interesting run with surgery so far so I'm not going to tell you to jump right into it, but I think given how long you've been dealing with this, I would seriously consider Botox as the next step.
NeuropathicGuy
King Fissure

Topics: 45