Hello and my story

Please come in! Start your own personal thread, tell us a bit about yourself...and your fissure, of course. Welcome!

Return to New to the forum? Introduce yourself here

Hello and my story

Postby joshy1234 » 01 Sep 2017, 11:33

Hello everyone,

I've been visiting this forum for a few years but have finally decided to join. I don't want anything in particular at this point other than to know that I am not alone.

My trouble started at around age 15 and I am now 30, so I've been dealing with my problems for about 15 years. When I was a child I would occasionally have rough bowel movements which required a lot of straining; these would usually result in a little bleeding and maybe some momentary pain, but nothing that was too concerning. At 15, though, I started bleeding after BMs enough for it to drip into the toilet and turn the water red. My family doctor wasn't too concerned, told me it was a fissure and that it would heal. The bleeding, however, continued for the following ten or so years, though it was only rarely bad enough to drip into the toilet and instead was only present on the toilet paper. Early in this period I saw a surgeon who immediately recommended LIS, which I turned down because I thought it a better idea to deal with this through non-surgical means first.

The interesting thing about this period is that there was basically never any pain even through there was bleeding after every single bowl movement. This meant I was able to live a more or less normal life. Despite this the problem did bother me psychologically, so I saw doctors now and then to discuss what could be done to prevent the bleeding. At two points (2010 and 2012) I had botox injections which didn't seem to do too much for me. I also had a colonoscopy and a flexible sigmoidoscopy in this decade.