Please come in! Start your own personal thread, tell us a bit about yourself...and your fissure, of course. Welcome!

Return to New to the forum? Introduce yourself here

Postby Guest » 23 Feb 2008, 01:05

Image Hi, I just had a fissurectomy, botox and skin tag removal today. I am starting to get over the honeymoon phase (anesthesia is wearing off) and I am beginning to worry about what to expect. I am a nurse and before all of this started I don't recall much about this AF business in nursing school. Hence, I have been thrown completely off guard by it. I have done alot of reading on the web but not much on the personal side of it. So glad to have found this site! My AF started in early Jan. 2008 after a flare of my ulcerative colitis, I thought I had a hemorrhoid...I wish that was it! I never knew about the kind of nerves that existed down there! I feel like I have given birth to a village of small people by now. Anyway, they are also trying to rule out Crohn's. Hopefully, this biopsy will be negative for that. It is weird but after my surgery I felt so good not having the pain for the first time in weeks but slowly I am feeling it creep back. My pain med (Darvocet) has been making me itch and throw up but by golly I am still taking it religiously in dreadful fear of what may come when the anesthesia wears off. I am so scared to go to the bathroom again. I never realized how much anxiety can be related to a BM! Well, thanks for the great site!

Re: Newbie

Postby Fissulyna » 23 Feb 2008, 01:41

Hi there :D,
Welcome to our site !!! I am sorry that you did not find us before the procedure because it could have helped you with managing symptoms and maybe give you other options than surgery , but you are now here and you can be sure that we will all do as much as possible to help you, give you support and answer any question you might have :elmo: !!!