Severe pain

Anyone else had fissure whilst breastfeeding?

Please come in! Start your own personal thread, tell us a bit about yourself...and your fissure, of course. Welcome!

Return to New to the forum? Introduce yourself here

Severe pain

Postby SoreMummy » 21 Nov 2016, 15:26

Hi

This is my first time posting. Have only just found the site. I have been struggling with a fissure since my son was born 5 months ago. Initially managing to keep things under control with optifibre supplement but gradually deteriorated and the last two weeks have been horrendous. Was admitted to hospital as an emergency two weeks ago because of unbelievable pain. Had Botox injection but two weeks later am no better.

My son eats a lot so I drink 4-5 litres per day to keep up. I use optifibre regularly and have now added in lactulose but it just seems to give me bad wind. Still having hard stools at times despite this. Bowels are completely unpredictable and am at my wits end trying to find something that makes motions predictably soft. Today I had a hard stool first thing then two hours later had really loose motion?? I don't know why this is happening. Pain is only controlled lying down so am trying to spend most of my life lying down at present which is very difficult with a 5 month old and 3 year old to look after. The spasms last for at least 4 or 5 hours after a BM and all day if I don't lie down. No painkillers work including local anaesthetic gel and I can't take anything too strong when breastfeeding anyway. Am starting to doubt if I'll ever heal although surgeon who did my Botox said the fissures look acute and he's confident they will heal if I can get motions soft enough. I'm using Diltiazem cream and have been for about 4 weeks but feels like it aggravates things rather than improving. I've also cut back on breastfeeding (which broke my heart) and give formula at bedtime and during the night with BFing only during the day.