Is Magnesium citrate safe for long-term use?

Discuss any questions, problems or share your solutions here...

Return to General Anal Fissure Discussion

Re: Is Magnesium citrate safe for long-term use?

Postby John667 » 04 Jan 2019, 15:12

Abu wrote:Because of the AF, it is a vicious circle. This is why LIS was invented, to break the circle - relax the muscle so the AF can heal. The AF itself causes the spasms and the muscle tightens. This is controlled by the autonomous nervous system - to the best of my knowledge, only a handful of people on Earth are able to control that, and only on specific circumstances (see the Iceman for example).
Botox also helps because it freezes the muscle and it cannot contract anymore. Maybe you can try this, I have no experience with it whatsoever.
GTN ointments were also designed for this, and also Nifedipine. These are calcium blockers which should assist with muscle relaxation, however, I am sure you tried them with not much success.

For me, keeping the stools soft for many months in a row helps with getting in a suitable position to start manual dilation. But we are all so different.

Thanks for the info. Is this a case of the body trying to protect itself from pain and then each time it feels a BM coming the muscle tightens to avoid the pain? Yep I tried Nifedipine and it doesn't work that well (but it helps). Anything else besides LIS that could help when ultra-tight muscle prevent even putting a finger there?

As for LIS, not sure I could deal with a 8-10% chance of fecal incontinence...
John667
Salt Bather

Topics: 7

Postby missy moo » 04 Jan 2019, 15:41