My 2020 LIS and Fissurecotomy Diary

LIS

Please come in! Start your own personal thread, tell us a bit about yourself...and your fissure, of course. Welcome!

Return to New to the forum? Introduce yourself here

My 2020 LIS and Fissurecotomy Diary

Postby North West Jen » 06 Nov 2019, 23:45

Hello!
So I typed up a whole big thing and when I hit submit everything went away and I have to start all over. So I will be a lot more brief than my first post.

37 year old female with 3 kids (youngest 16 months). Problem first began in May 2016. Was misdiagnosed until September 2016 when I saw CRS who confirmed AF. Did dialtzem (so?) for 4 weeks until it irritated my skin. Stopped cream and AF came back. Had Botox and worked great until 3 weeks in I got an abscess at fissure site which turned into fistula. Had fistula surgery and took forever to heal (about a year). Felt pretty good but would have off and on burning inside but pain was manageable and not nearly as bad as before. I considered it a win.

Fast forward to 2 weeks ago. I finally had enough of not ever feeling “normal” in that area and knew I needed to go back to CRS. She confirmed that I have a AF inside just above where the old fissure was. I was also red until the anal area and told me to eliminate dairy, coffee, sofa and spicy foods. I go back to CRS in 2 weeks to see if any healing has taken place. If not, CRS wants to be Botox again.

Here’s the thing. I’m nervous about Botox due to my history of last time. I believe I have a tight sphincter muscle and suspect this is what is causing my issues the last 3 years. I was misdiagnosed 3 years ago and had a lot of trauma to my butt before I finally got the help I needed. I think I need LIS to finally kick this thing once and for all. I’m going to talk to my CRS about this in 2 weeks.

I will be starting a diary from here on out in hopes to help someone who is experiencing the same thing. Or, if anything, to let you know you are not alone.