5 years later..

Fissure ongoing

Please come in! Start your own personal thread, tell us a bit about yourself...and your fissure, of course. Welcome!

Return to New to the forum? Introduce yourself here

5 years later..

Postby Stef2020 » 09 Nov 2020, 05:51

Hello fellow sufferers,

I am new to writing on this forum dispite being glued to reading it during my on and off 5 year anal fissure  :cry:

It started with a bout of constipation and regrettably pushing out a giant elephant poop which lead to the terror. I got pregnant soon after so doctors were not happy to give me medication and anyway, I assumed it would just heal as with anything else so dealt and cried my way though the whole pooping out glass and pain which followed. The pregnancy lead to further hard stools, thanks to all day morning sickness which meant I could only stomach bread! After living my first 12 weeks of pregnancy in hell, I finally saw a consultant who told me to take a stool softener (why had nobody told me this before!?) and reluctantly prescribed rectogesic. I started taking laxatives- lactulose and then onto laxido. (lactulose gave me awful tummy cramps). The cream gave me horrendous headaches so I couldn't continue use.

Fast forward 3/4 years, and another pregnancy later, I've learnt to 'manage' the fissure, although only by continuing with laxido every night (about half a sachet). At times I think its healed and then BAM, another hard stool out of the blue (seems to correlate to my menstrual cycle - does anybody else have this?). Although, it only seems to last max 4-7 days and then 'heals' up again.