Dilation - any tips?

Anal Dilation

Discuss any questions, problems or share your solutions here...

Return to General Anal Fissure Discussion

Dilation - any tips?

Postby Hazey123 » 03 Jun 2023, 09:40

I’m new to dilation following recommendation by my CRS to do this twice per day for 10 mins each time with a dilator. He tells me I need to breathe and relax my internal muscles while dilating. The difficulty I have is taking it out slowly and controlled without shooting it out!! I’m supposed to control its exit and I find this hard to do. Sometimes I can and sometimes it just gets ejected!! Breathing in deep and out helps but not always. I tend to get the dilator in then just keep it there for ten mins relaxing as much as possible. My CRS wants me to repeatedly insert it and fully take it out during these ten min sessions but I find this SO hard to do. What are your experiences from anyone that has found success or otherwise with dilation. Did you just insert and leave it in for a period of time? How long til you noticed improvements? I’m at six weeks dilation and have less pain than I’ve felt for 18 months altho way off “normal” if I can remember what that even feels like.
AF following skin tag surgery Feb 2022
GTN ointment
sigmoidoscopy & EUA Sept 2022 no fissure found
2nd opinion Jan 2023 fissure diagnosed, diltiazem - allergic
recommended Botox Fissurectomy
3rd opinion - dilation 2x per day plus GTN ….
Hazey123
Salt Bather

Topics: 1

Re: Dilation - any tips?

Postby GrrrAF » 03 Jun 2023, 10:24

Hi Hazey123,