Hi! Another newbie here!

Please come in! Start your own personal thread, tell us a bit about yourself...and your fissure, of course. Welcome!

Return to New to the forum? Introduce yourself here

Hi! Another newbie here!

Postby FissureFighter0122 » 18 Nov 2010, 23:35

Hi everyone,
I am relieved to find such a great website, because I have never felt so alone in my whole life, than I have in dealing with this pain in the a$$.
My AF began 10 months ago when my beautiful baby boy was born. I am told it was the result of the difficult labor, and episiotomy I received. I thought the pain was related to the fact that I had delivered a 9lb baby, so I tried to give it some time, but weeks later, I noticed a burning sensation after bms. Being an exhausted, and very busy new mom, I would forget about the pain as quickly as it came, and forgot to get it checked.. That was until one day, I couldn't ignore it anymore. I was going about my business, and it was like passing a ball of razor blades.. I was in the most excruciating pain I have ever experienced (yes, more painful than childbirth) and then I noticed the blood. My husband wanted to take me to the ER, but I just laid in bed and cried for hours. He didn't know what to do, so he called my mom, who came and stayed for a few days through the worst of it. I went to see my Dr, who diagnosed me with hemorrhoids and prescribed a Hydrocortisone cream (big mistake) and stool softeners. After a few days on the softeners, I was noticing things were getting better, and thought I would forever be rid of this horrid problem.
I was wrong... Off and on for the past 10 months I have been re-tearing, and suffering, and healing, and re-tearing, and suffering. I finally caved and have been seen by a surgeon. She prescribed 2% diltiazem ointment, which, was working quite well for a few weeks. Things are quite bad again right now, but I do have a theory..