To schedule or not to schedule?

Are you having, or have you had a Lateral Internal Sphincterotomy (LIS)? Please share your experiences here, or ask any questions.

Return to LIS - Considering surgery or already had it?

To schedule or not to schedule?

Postby slhall » 21 Feb 2011, 08:29

Hello - I'm a newbie here, but have benefited from reading all the posts. I've had my fissure for at least 5 years. Additionally, I've had about 6 surgeries for thrombosed hemorrhoids in the last 15 years! I had an abnormal anorectal manometry a few years ago. Have had the fissure open, heal, open, heal...blah. I am again currently using some fancy suppositories and cream that were compounded for me. Went to see the colorectal surgeon and he said yes, I have fissure, skin tag and scar tissue. I am scared to death to have this surgery! I could right a book on butt pain and spasms. I take valium daily lately in addition to suppositories. I eat a very strict diet and take what would make most people crap their pants in order to have a good poo! I also have some nerve damage or impingment from multiple abdominal surgeries for endometriosis that play into all of this. I'm looking for encouragement, courage and advice on the surgery. I havent's scheduled it yet out of fear of it being even more awful (as if, right)... but honestly, my life revolves around pooping and pain in my butt right now!
WOuld love to hear anything anyone has to say.
Thanks!
slhall
Fibre Addict

Topics: 4

Re: To schedule or not to schedule?

Postby Island girl » 21 Feb 2011, 09:37