LIS and Skin Tag removal 5 days ago...help

Are you having, or have you had a Lateral Internal Sphincterotomy (LIS)? Please share your experiences here, or ask any questions.

Return to LIS - Considering surgery or already had it?

LIS and Skin Tag removal 5 days ago...help

Postby LIS-Recoverer » 16 Oct 2012, 07:48

First of all,
I'm glad I found some place to vent, if nothing else. So, thanks everyone for having this board up.
I was suffering with my AF for more than a year before I decided to see my General Practitioner for it (stupid I know). My excuse is that I am a 34-year-old veteran of the military who was basically trained into the mindset that 'if it ain't gonna kill ya, no need to waste time with a Doc.'
In any case after the first visit with a CRSurgeon I was prescribed the Nitroglycerin ointment. Frankly, all that did was give me blindingly painful headaches...they hurt just as bad as the fissure did...but now I had both. Fail.
I went back, again after too long, life got busy...
Visited the same Doctor and got scheduled for surgery last week.
So, background over...it's been 5 days now and I am still in pretty incredible pain when I have a bowel movement. I called the surgeon's office yesterday and they basically said 'yeah...that's normal' which is odd because they only gave me pain medication through yesterday (I've been using it sparingly...so I have a couple percoset left for today...but I'm sort of terrified about what the rest of today will bring...let alone tomorrow.)
Additionally, my surgeon told me that after a couple days (last weekend) I should be fine to go back to work.
There is simply no way. I have to go directly from the toilet to the tub to even cope with the spasming pain after every event...maybe I'm the weird one, but at my office...this isn't a possibility.
I've tried adding fiber to every part of my diet, increased my water intake several orders of magnitude...and still, every BM is a adamantium lined granite torpedo of pain.