Anyone healed lrg fissure that has scar tissue/raised edges?

Discuss any questions, problems or share your solutions here...

Return to General Anal Fissure Discussion

Anyone healed lrg fissure that has scar tissue/raised edges?

Postby ring of fire » 28 Jan 2013, 11:08

Has anyone had any success healing a large, deep fissure that has raised edges? I think the raised edges are scar tissue since the fissure has been there so long. Skin tags also present.
If you have had success getting rid of one of those buggers, please reply!
ring of fire
Salt Bather

Topics: 4

Re: Anyone healed lrg fissure that has scar tissue/raised edges?

Postby suzyljank » 28 Jan 2013, 11:27

Hi, sorry about your fissure. The raised edges could be scar tissue. I'm not a doctor but I have a similar situation. While you may be able to heal the fissure, if you've had it a long time and enough scar tissue is present the chances that it stays healed aren't good. The doctor told me it's because of the accumulated scar tissue. It doesn't stretch. When you have a bm you have to be able to stretch to pass the stool so if you over stretch even a little you could retear. It's frustrating, I can do well for a few weeks and then bam, I'm back to square one. I had LIS but it wasn't enough. Hope your situation is better than mine is and you are able to heal. Suzy
suzyljank

Topics: 23
Mood: very optimistic

Postby ring of fire » 28 Jan 2013, 13:25

Wow, your situation sounds nearly identical to mine. I have had this since I was a teen on and off for over 20 years now. I had LIS and it seemed to make things worse for me. That was in 2010 but it was done in Spain and the surgeon did not specialize in this type of surgery. I have assumed that is why I'm worse now than before LIS.
What have you been told are your options? I have a few good weeks, even a couple of months, and then if I get sick or the slightest hard stool...back to daily pain. The pain can be so horrible. I need resolution and healing!