How to deal with dressings

Are you having, or have you had a Lateral Internal Sphincterotomy (LIS)? Please share your experiences here, or ask any questions.

Return to LIS - Considering surgery or already had it?

How to deal with dressings

Postby Triss » 31 Jan 2013, 14:33

This is my first post so hello everyone!
I am due to have fistulotomy in two weeks time that I've been waiting for for a loooong time after my abscess failed to heal. I had lots of problems with dressings and packing when I had my abscess drained and that made me really upset at times. So I wanted to get myself prepared before the second surgery.
The most major problem that I predict I will have is that the dressing will get wet every single time I go for a wee (which is what happened when I had the abscess). I am a girl and I just can't imagine how can it not get wet when the dressing is so close to urethra. How did you girls deal with that?
I am a medical student on a placement in hospital, and that obviously makes everything more difficult if I need to change dressings in hospital toilets when they get wet....so if you have any idea how can I stop this from happening then please please tell me or I will die of anxiety on the way lol
Thank you!
Triss
Fibre Addict

Topics: 2

Re: How to deal with dressings

Postby Savaici » 31 Jan 2013, 19:15

Hi Triss, and welcome to the forum!
I have not had this surgery, but one of our members - Ever the Optimist - did have and so thought I'd give you the link to her comments:http://anal-fissure.org/t5024-3rd-day-post-fistulotomy?highlight=Fistulotomy
Hope it might help.
Savaici
Administrator

Topics: 222

Postby Mamalucia » 02 Feb 2013, 16:36