Trying desperately to figure this fissure cycle out!

Please come in! Start your own personal thread, tell us a bit about yourself...and your fissure, of course. Welcome!

Return to New to the forum? Introduce yourself here

Trying desperately to figure this fissure cycle out!

Postby Jballerina24 » 30 Apr 2013, 17:09

Well, I am new to this. Figured out I had a fissure about 6 weeks ago. I tried to take stool softeners, but still had pain and bleeding. The first GI doc I went to couldnt see it and sent me to a crs. He used an anoscope and said he couldn't see it either! He gave me nifedipine cream and sent me home. And insisted that I schedule a colonoscopy. When I asked him how to change my diet, his response was "if you try something and it bothers you, don't eat it" Really?? That's what I came to you for. . Very frustrated, I called the office the next day and sent pictures to one of the nurses. She was amazed that he hasn't seen it!!
So, I am 10 days into nifedipine. And trying desperately to alter my diet on my own. I NEVER have a problem with regularity, just bulky stools. Any suggestions?? I have been taking 3 colace every night and increasing my water intake. Cutting down on veggies, that sort of thing. Nothing seems to help!! I want this gone! I am a 33 year old woman who is otherwise perfectly healthy! And this thing is taking over my life! HELP!! I'll take anything you can give me!!!
Jballerina24

Topics: 2

Re: Trying desperately to figure this fissure cycle out!

Postby Guest » 01 May 2013, 09:17

Welcome Jballerina24
We are so sorry you have these fissure but they are beatable. I'll have you know that I beat mine with diet alone, but it may take a while.
In my 20's I was too stubborn and naive to stick to a diet that worked. I found with diet its a process of elimination when it comes to finding the right combo to beat these fissures.