soft stool

Need diet advise for fissure

Please come in! Start your own personal thread, tell us a bit about yourself...and your fissure, of course. Welcome!

Return to New to the forum? Introduce yourself here

soft stool

Postby Claudia » 23 Sep 2013, 16:56

Hi to all,
I'm new to this support forum but am SO excited to LEARN and hopefully treat my fissure before it becomes chronic. It is the third fissure that I have and the last one was just in May. The new one started about three weeks ago. I've been to the doc and got the Diltiazem ointment. Drinking at least 4 (16once) glasses of water a day. Taking bath three times per day and colace twice a day (am and pm). Unfortunately I retear, bleed and hurt so badly everytime I pass stool. I'm trying to eat more fiber like Bran and veggies but so far I have the same problem. Someone said to get the stool to Bristol 6. I looked up what it meant (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bristol_stool_scale) but am unsure how to change my diet to get there. Matter of fact I really don't want to eat at all anymore since I'm in too much pain. I would be so happy to learn how to handle this. Please help
Claudia
Fibre Addict

Topics: 1

Re: soft stool

Postby England » 23 Sep 2013, 17:04

Try Fybogel a powder which u mix with water, not a cure by itself but it makes it easier and regular to have a BM
England
Fibre Addict

Topics: 3

Postby Deleted User 2950 » 23 Sep 2013, 17:55

Claudia said

I'm trying to eat more fiber like Bran...

Screeech!!!

While bran is a good source of fiber and good for us, it is considered an insoluble fiber, the type that bulks us up. That may be why you continue to experience large stools and to re-tear. Now your job is to balance the soluble fiber with the insolubles to produce more manageable size stools.