newbie here :) advice please!

Please come in! Start your own personal thread, tell us a bit about yourself...and your fissure, of course. Welcome!

Return to New to the forum? Introduce yourself here

newbie here :) advice please!

Postby koolkat330 » 02 Jul 2011, 06:56

hi everyone :)
what a great place to get support and information! especially on a topic that probably isnt much talked about outside of the internet...
so my story - i am a 21yo female. back in oct 2010, my bathroom was undergoing renovations so i STUPIDLY decided to 'hold it in' for about 3-4 days. when i finally had a bowel movement, it felt like i was passing a baseball, and caused some fissures. i went to a doctor, who put me on things like nitro cream, anusol suppositories, docusate etc. my main medicine was miralax, which i was on for about 5 months, slowly tapering the dosage from a full dose to a half, to a quarter, then finally to none. i got checked after each 'taper' and everything looked fine. however, when i tapered from a qtr dosage to none.. that is what brings me to these boards.
currently, i am on two docusate stool softener tablets a day with no miralax, and fiber supplements. i found that whenever i taper my miralax to a smaller dosage, there is some pain and blood associated with it for about a week or so - i guess my bottom adjusting to 'harder' bowel movements. but when i went from a qtr to zero, its been about two months and i still am having sporadic blood with my BMs and slight pain when i go. my doctor that checked me (manually and with an anoscope, no colonscopy or sigmoidoscopy) said that i did also have a hemorrhoid but didnt think that was where the blood and pain were originating.