hello I'm a newbie here

Please come in! Start your own personal thread, tell us a bit about yourself...and your fissure, of course. Welcome!

Return to New to the forum? Introduce yourself here

hello I'm a newbie here

Postby tillyest » 28 Jan 2012, 08:34

Hello all, I'm a newbie here. I have been dealing with an AF for over two years, OUCH! I just had my surgery in early December and am still healing from it. The surgery seems to have worked. I still get some blood now and again with a BM but nothing like before the surgery.I had a fissurectomy inc sphincterotomy and tag removal. ( I also hemoraged after my surgery and they had to rush me back into surgery to fix that)The doc missed a blood vessel:(. It was quite a day I'll tell you! Anyway, My Dr. has me on Senekot-S ( its a lax plus softner)two tabs every other night. At first they worked well and now they seem to have stopped. Has this happened to anyone else?
I've started to take colace (stool softeners) one every night before bed. Does anyone know, is that a safe alternative (to take long term) or should I stick with the Senekot (senna lax)
Any help would be appreciated.
I'm really glad I found this site. Wish I had found it years ago. Image Tilly
tillyest
Fibre Addict

Topics: 1

Re: hello I'm a newbie here

Postby workingonit » 28 Jan 2012, 10:20

Hey Tilly,
I just do a spoonfuls of metamucil and a spoonful of olive oil afte lunch and dinner for my AF. But many many people on this forum take or have taken mirilax (also called Movicol). I guess it is easier on the system. I've read that people do one or two sachets in the evening. There are a couple people who got the runs from it, but I think they tended to have loose stools in the first place.
In the past I have taken Colace and found it ineffective. Drinking lots of water seems to work better for me than Colace. I have heard that after a while even if they do work, those types of stool softeners can stop working.