My Journey

Please come in! Start your own personal thread, tell us a bit about yourself...and your fissure, of course. Welcome!

Return to New to the forum? Introduce yourself here

My Journey

Postby SakPase » 18 Aug 2015, 18:15

Hello - 29 year old, active and healthy male. I'm a runner and a pastor to students at a church to give you a bit of background.

First: if you're confused and embarrassed - welcome to the club. No one likes to talk about this...which means no one knows it is a real possibility in life until they're in the middle of it. But, you're clearly not alone. My doc did six surgeries today. Six! It happens a lot, but no one likes to scream that they have a torn sphincter!

I am now 2 hours post-op. I'm home, sitting on my couch, trying to figure out what the heck is going on in life... :D

Background:
On July 4, I had a hard stool and remember a "pop" that was uncomfortable, but I didn't give a lot of thought to it. That afternoon, another BM which hurt worse with a little blood. That night was so uncomfortable...but I'd experienced similar pain before and it would subside in a day or two. I would typically just increase fiber with Fiber One bars and Cracklin' Oat Bran cereal. Unfortunately, this was the start of a six week journey.

The following days sucked, to say the least. July 6 my wife and I were out of town for 18 days where we work with a summer student leadership conference. I thought that things would be good because the "hemorrhoid" would disappear and give relief. Instead, it was continued pain and blood. And then, out of nowhere, lingering pain for some 6-8 hours would be there.

The conference was intense and hands on. We were paid staff, so I was very ticked at how it was going for me. I changed my diet where I was eating less. The conference started Monday, and on Thursday, it was the worst day by far. A very hard stool - took 45 minutes of gritting and bearing my teeth. My stools were pencil like because everything was so tight.