1week after LIS

Spasms/recovery time

Are you having, or have you had a Lateral Internal Sphincterotomy (LIS)? Please share your experiences here, or ask any questions.

Return to LIS - Considering surgery or already had it?

1week after LIS

Postby Gardener2 » 29 Oct 2017, 07:50

Hi I just joined. This forum has been very helpful to read during a very painful time.Main query is how long will it take to recover sufficiently to return to work? I work as a gardener and find it difficult to slow down.

I have had a fissure for about 6 months though part of that time it was undiagnosed. Had LIS surgery on Monday am of this week so now 5 days in. Pain not bad at first but increased by day 3 or 4 (maybe morphine given immediately after surgery worn off - taking Naproxen and Paracetomol still twice a day plus Moviciol) Had bleeding until today. Sat in car yesterday and was driven a couple hours max but in quite severe pain come evening. Very swollen and pain is a 7 out of 10 currently the next day. Worryingly have had occasional spasms again. Not as bad as they often were pre op. Questions:
1.Should I use Diltiazem cream/Instillgel still?
2. How much sitting down can I do without causing damage? Work on a website as well as garden so keen to keep it up to date and no laptop either unfortunately. Keen to get back to work but it feels like it is worsening currently!
3. How long before I can drive to work and return to my physical job sensibly?

Any helpful pointers welcome. Thank you so much. :Rock:
Gardener2

Topics: 1

Re: 1week after LIS

Postby Mypoorbutt » 29 Oct 2017, 08:56

Hi,
I think LIS recovery is a really individual thing some people are practically cured a few days after the op others take a couple of weeks and unfortunately in rare cases it can take a couple of months.
Lots of sitz baths will help healing and keeping on top of the pain will stop the pain/spasm cycle from kicking in and slowing down healing.