AF for about a year

May be on the upswing but am still impacted daily

Please come in! Start your own personal thread, tell us a bit about yourself...and your fissure, of course. Welcome!

Return to New to the forum? Introduce yourself here

AF for about a year

Postby rlb273 » 22 Dec 2018, 11:25

Hey all, longtime reader but just decided today to sign up and share my story.

Male, 27, always had really bad hemorrhoids.

I moved back to the USA from Asia Dec 2017. In January I started lifting regularly, something I hadn’t done in about 8 years. I noticed that I started to have twinges of pain in my butt after I would go to the bathroom in Early February but just thought it was hemorrhoid pain.

The pain got worse and worse and I don’t think my lifting was helping it. I would have awful pain after BMs in March/April But never saw any blood. Pain would last a few hours then subside. I started taking a class and noticed I would have pain when driving in my car, where the seats are pretty low.

I started using coconut oil in my butt as it felt soothing. I told my mom about it who is a nurse and she suggested it was a fissure. In June/July I had enough and figured it wasn’t going away so I stopped the lifting, sadly, and started caring for my butt. Drank tons of water, eating only vegan diet, and taking ibuprofen when the pain was really bad.

I got a rx of Diltiazem in September and have been using it twice a day since then. Before I started using Diltiazem the pain was more of a searing burning pain. Now, Dec 2018, the pain is more manageable and does not monoplaize my life as much. I’ve been using the Diltiazem longer than the recommended 8 weeks, but it’s healing slowly.

I find that the volume of poop is what sets me off. When I poop a lot it hurts way more. I usually have about 1 bm a day. The pain is now that deep throbbing ache, not burning or searing.