10-Days Post-Op & How I Got Here

It’s a long story

Are you having, or have you had a Lateral Internal Sphincterotomy (LIS)? Please share your experiences here, or ask any questions.

Return to LIS - Considering surgery or already had it?

10-Days Post-Op & How I Got Here

Postby VGNLWYR18 » 31 Jul 2018, 21:42

So, this is weird. I’m a 30 year old attorney. I’m a father of an 18-month old boy, a gym rat—lifting weights 6 times a week, and have been in a strictly vegan diet since 2011. I’ve also had a chronic AF since 2014 and after a re-tear in Jan18 was finally convinced by my wife to see a CRS. I’m 10-days post-op today (more on that below).

The reason I mention who I am, what I do, and what I like is to highlight the face, or the persona, that I think we all put on to other while living with chronic AF pain. My gyms buddies don’t know what I deal with on a daily basis. My co-workers don’t know that three hours before I show up to work I’m performing a self-admitted ritual of sorts just to be able to sit through my morning meetings in only a minimal amount of discomfort.

That person was born in 2014 following my first round of Accutane. It dried me up to the point that I simply had a really large, hard bm that felt like it tore me in half (my proctologist says it’s only a moderate tear, even though it’s extremely painful). I saw a general Gi, had a colonoscopy, tried the entire gamut of creams and suppositories, to no avail. Even anything with a local analgesic caused more intense burning and pain. Every time I would make progress healing, I would have a re-tear. I’ve spent the last six months in a perpetual state of chronic pain.