another newbie here too!

Please come in! Start your own personal thread, tell us a bit about yourself...and your fissure, of course. Welcome!

Return to New to the forum? Introduce yourself here

Re: another newbie here too!

Postby Elphie » 19 Apr 2011, 09:00

My bff works for a GENIUS ocular surgeon and he has NO bedside manner at all, he's terrible with children but he SAVES lives, sight, and in some cases, reconstructs after terrible accidents. In my area a little two yr old was run over by a ride on lawn mower, lost most of his face but this doc, and many others, got together and saved his face, his sight, his life and he is now five, going to school and living life and the sweetest little boy you'll ever meet so I think these docs who r amazing, r so focused on the logistics of what they do that bedside manner becomes secondary. I'll take skill over personality anyday and just cry all the way home...as long as he can fix my sore ass!! 9 days!
Elphie
Fissureologist

Topics: 10

Postby Deleted User 579 » 19 Apr 2011, 09:44

Hi Elphie – you’re absolutely right, when you think about the amazing things surgeons can do to save lives and improve people’s quality of life, bedside manner really is a secondary consideration. That’s what I’ve come around to thinking about my own situation, which is why I haven’t bailed on my CRS. I really have no reason to doubt his skill and actually quite a few reasons to have a lot of confidence in his surgical abilities.

What an amazing story about the little boy. I am so glad the docs were able to do so much for him. What a brave kid too!