So worried, and am a Newbie here!

Please come in! Start your own personal thread, tell us a bit about yourself...and your fissure, of course. Welcome!

Return to New to the forum? Introduce yourself here

So worried, and am a Newbie here!

Postby Guest » 04 Dec 2007, 12:30

Hello everyone. I'm brand new here, and so glad I found a forum of people who totally understand what I'm going through. I'm a 41 year old mother of two, married to a wonderful man, and we live in the Lone Star state.
In addition to my fissure (which is apparently so deeply cut that it's in the muscle) I have fibromyalgia and chronic myofascial pain. So, this is another new and wonderful aspect of my everyday life. :|
I am considering a fissurectomy, and will see my dr. this Friday for a consult about it, but I want the bold, bare truth. How awful is it? Really. I NEED to know the bare bones here. Is the pain worse than what I am experiencing right now, or is it better? I need to come to a decision because this has been going on now since January. She was completely surprised when she saw the deepness of the fissure, because the stigma of FM tends to make doctors think we don't tolerate pain as well as others.
Any information you can share with me would SO be appreciated. Oh, and another thing, is there somewhere on this site that defines the meaning of the anacronyms you use? I don't even know what LIS is.
Thanks in advance. I 'm looking forward to some real honesty and making some friends!

Re: So worried, and am a Newbie here!

Postby Deleted User 5 » 04 Dec 2007, 13:13

Hi NW, and welcome to the board! Sorry you're in such straits, but then, you wouldn't be here if you weren't!
When you say fissurectomy, you "probably" mean the LIS (Lateral Internal Sphinctorotomy) which is the most common surgical procedure performed for anal fissure. While there is a "fissurectomy" type procedure, it is not common and may not even be reliable.