I'm a newbie here... need some advice

Please come in! Start your own personal thread, tell us a bit about yourself...and your fissure, of course. Welcome!

Return to New to the forum? Introduce yourself here

Postby Jules » 16 Apr 2009, 19:41

Hi everyone! I'm new here and need some advice. I have an AF that has been bothering me for about 3 months now. I scheduled an LIS about 2 weeks ago and then it seemed to get better after I made my appointment. I cancelled and now I seem to be back to square one. I had a good bit of blood at first, then it stopped, and now has started again. I'm about to loose my mind with this thing. Should I go ahead and have the surgery? Not having much pain at all now but in the beginning it was the worst pain I had every felt. Could it be getting better since I just see blood but have very little pain?
Jules
Fibre Addict

Topics: 1

Re: I'm a newbie here... need some advice

Postby Deleted User 5 » 16 Apr 2009, 20:02

Hi Jules, and welcome! Image
We all here know a little about the "losing our mind" part, don't feel alone! Maybe you are already beginning to see the real nature of AF...it can calm down for a few days and seem to be getting better and suddenly, when you think the ride is over, you're back on the roller.
coaster. It can be a cruel letdown, too. I certainly faced the same situation in not knowing if I should have the LIS, I thought I was healing and wanted to not have it, but that was after seven months. Some here waited much longer to decide on surgery. And the truth is, it's really up to you, only you can decide when you have had enough. The possibility of healing is there, but it seems to diminish as time goes by.
What other more conservative steps have you taken to try and resolve the fissure? There are many ways to manage and sometimes even heal the fissure, and this forum has information to varying degrees on most everything, so do look around...
Deleted User 5

Postby cherylk » 16 Apr 2009, 22:01

Jules,