LIS Diary

Surgery done on Sunday May 14, 2017

Are you having, or have you had a Lateral Internal Sphincterotomy (LIS)? Please share your experiences here, or ask any questions.

Return to LIS - Considering surgery or already had it?

Re: LIS Diary

Postby ResMePlz » 19 Jun 2017, 09:22

I'm 8.5 weeks post LIS/Fissurectomy and the incision site is still the only issue I have. It's getting better every week, and I'm back to living a normal life, but it's definitely not 100%. I haven't had any fissure pain since surgery, just the incision has been a bitch. If I poke at it it gets really sore, so I just use the shower to clean and a fan to dry then I go about my day like anyone else, eat whatever I want. I work in a hospital and move patients, and it definitely lets me know when I've used too much strength, but the pain is only instant and goes awAy right away. Didn't expect it to take this long but I'm getting there.

And I still randomly have blood, so I wouldn't worry about that. I think it's the incision site in my case. Still have slight discharge I believe. But expect slow recovery from the incision and don't dwell on it. Just think of where you were before all of this.

It's funny that the site annoys the shit of me, as if I already forgot what I went through the last year. It's easy to forget once things are better :)
Good luck!
ResMePlz
Salt Bather

Topics: 4

Postby VictorianKnight55 » 19 Jun 2017, 11:29

Hi ResMePlz,

Good to know you are feeling better post surgery.

In my case, the surgeon said the incision has healed, but it still feels tender and sore, particularly after more than one bowel movement, after having a large bowel movement, and when poking at it. It's not all the incision site though, it's just the part near the anal opening.

I know it is not like the pain we used to suffer from before the surgery, but it's still pain nonetheless. Let us hope we get better with time and patience, each and every one of us.
VictorianKnight55
Salt Bather